Home Editorials Full List Of 16 Regions In Ghana And Their Capitals

Full List Of 16 Regions In Ghana And Their Capitals

Full list of 16 Regions In Ghana And Their Capitals

On December 27, 2018, Ghana conducted a referendum to form new Regions, with voting taking place in all 47 districts that were chosen to be part of the new Regional creations. In all regions, 99 percent of people voted yes, with turnout ranging from 80 to 90 percent.

This high turnout resulted in the formation of six new regions in Ghana, in addition to the existing ten, as well as the partition of certain existing areas.

Buy WAEC Results Checker -Advertisement-

This article will show you all you need to know about 16 regions in Ghana and their capitals.

List of 16 Regions in Ghana

Here is the full list of 16 regions in Ghana;

Northern Region

Ghana’s Northern Region is one of the country’s sixteen regions. It was the biggest of the sixteen regions, encompassing 70,384 square kilometers or 31% of Ghana’s land area until December 2018, when the Savannah Region and North East Region were formed from it.

Ashanti Region

The Ashanti Region is located in south Ghana and is the third biggest of Ghana’s 16 administrative regions, with 24,389 km2 or 10.2 percent of the country’s total geographical area.

Western Region

The Western Region, which stretches from the Ivory Coast to the Central Region in the east, comprises the capital and huge twin city of Sekondi-Takoradi on the coast, coastal Axim, and a rugged inland territory that includes Elubo.

Volta Region

The Volta Region, with Ho as its headquarters, is one of Ghana’s sixteen administrative regions. It lies west of the Republic of Togo and east of Lake Volta.

Eastern Region

The Eastern Region is one of Ghana’s sixteen administrative areas and is located in the south of the country. Lake Volta borders the Eastern region on the east, Bono East Region and Ashanti Region on the north, Ashanti Region on the west, and Central Region and Greater Accra Region on the south.

Upper West Region

The Upper West Region of Ghana lies in the northwestern corner of the country, bordered to the east by the Upper East Region, to the south by the Northern Region, and to the west and north by Burkina Faso. Wa is the regional center and largest settlement in the Upper West.

Upper East Region

The Upper East Region is the smallest of Ghana’s 16 administrative regions, located in north Ghana. It covers a total land area of 8,842 square kilometers, accounting for 2.7% of Ghana’s total land area. Bolgatanga, often known as Bolga, is the regional capital of the Upper East.

Central Region

Ghana’s Central Region is one of the country’s sixteen administrative regions. It is bounded on the north by the Ashanti and Eastern regions, on the west by the Western region, on the east by the Greater Accra area, and on the south by the Gulf of Guinea.

Bono East Region

The Ghanaian area of Bono East was created out of the Brong Ahafo region. Techiman is the new region’s capital. This new area was created as a result of the New Patriotic Party’s pledge made before to the 2016 Ghana general election.

Greater Accra Region

The Greater Accra Region, with a total land surface area of 3,245 square kilometers, is the smallest of Ghana’s 16 administrative regions. This accounts for 1.4 percent of Ghana’s total land area.

Savannah Region

The Savannah Region is one of Ghana’s newest regions, but it is also the country’s biggest. The Gonja Traditional Council, chaired by the Yagbonwura Tumtumba Boresa Jakpa I, presented a petition to establish the Region.

North-East Region

Ghana’s North East Region is one of the country’s sixteen regions. It is located in the north of the nation and was established in December 2018 following a referendum to separate it from the Northern region. Nalerigu is the region’s capital.

Oti Region

The Oti Region is one of Ghana’s six newly created regions, which were established in December 2018. The region was created from the northern section of the Volta Region, and it will be in fulfillment of a New Patriotic Party campaign pledge.

Western North Region

The Western North Region is one of six new Ghanaian regions established in 2019. The area is bordered on the west by the Ivory Coast, on the southeast by the Central Region, and on the north by the Ashanti, Ahafo, Bono East, and Bono regions.

Brong-Ahafo Region

The Brong-Ahafo area was a Ghanaian territory in the south. The Black Volta river ran through Brong-Ahafo to the north, the Lake Volta to the east, and the Ashanti, Eastern, and Western regions to the south. Sunyani is the capital of Brong-Ahafo.

Bono Region

The Bono area is one of Ghana’s sixteen administrative regions. Bono East and Ahafo regions were formed as a consequence of the remainder of the Brong-Ahafo region. The regional capital is Sunyani, commonly known as Ghana’s green city.

Full list of 16 Regions In Ghana And Their Capitals

See the full list of 16 Regions in Ghana and their capitals below;

  1. Northern Region – Tamale
  2. Ashanti Region – Kumasi
  3. Western Region – Sekondi
  4. Volta Region – Ho
  5. Eastern Region – Koforidua
  6. Upper West Region – Wa
  7. Upper East Region – Bolgatanga
  8. Central Region – Cape Coast
  9. Bono East Region – Techiman
  10. Greater Accra Region – Accra
  11. Savannah Region – Damango
  12. North-East Region – Nareligu
  13. Oti Region – Dambai
  14. Western North Region – Sefwi Wiawso
  15. Brong-Ahafo Region – Goaso
  16. Bono Region – Sunyani


Which regions were created after the 10 main regions?

The Volta, Brong Ahafo, Northern, and Western Regions have been divided to form six new Regions.

The Oti Region was created from the Volta Region. The former Brong-Ahafo area was divided into the Ahafo region and the Bono East Region. This was in keeping with a pledge Nana Akuffo Addo made during his 2016 campaign efforts.

The North-East Region and the Savannah Region were created from the Northern Region. The Western North Region was developed from the Western Region.

The North-East Region, Oti Region, Ahafo Region, Bono East Region, Savannah Region and the Western North Region were created after the 10 main regions to form 16 regions in Ghana.

What Religions are in Ghana?

In Ghana, Christians constitute 63%, Muslims 16%, and 21% primitive religions.

What is the Average Temperature and Climate in Ghana?

The weather is hot and humid. Owing to the effect of the Atlantic Ocean, the southern half of the nation is more wet and rainy, whereas the northern section is less dry and rainy due to the influence of the Sahara Desert. Average daily temperatures range from 30°C (86°F) during the day to 24°C (75°F) at night with a relative humidity between 77 percent and 85 percent.


The above is the full list of 16 Regions In Ghana and their capitals. You may click on any of the links above to get Wiki of the 16 Regions in Ghana via Yebekagh.com

We publish articles like this because of you. You may help us by sharing this post with your whole social media network.

Please sign up for push notifications so that you don’t miss crucial announcements like these.

Do you have any thoughts about this page that you’d like to share? Please share your thoughts in the comments area.

Previous articleBono Region
Next articleFull List of Jay Z Songs in 2022


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.